Martin Oliver Profile Page


Name: Dr Martin Oliver

Martin is a Reader in the Faculty of Culture and Pedagogy at the Institute of Education. 

His research interests include the impact of new technology on roles and practices within Higher Education (including how this changes what students learn and do), evaluating ICT use and the development of theory and methodologies in the field of e-learning.

He edited ALT-J: research in learning technology from 2001-2008, is currently an editor for Learning, Media and Technology and serves on the editorial boards of Research and Practice in Technology Enhanced Learning and Innovations in Education & Teaching International. Martin has also guest edited special issues of Educational Technology and Society (twice), Quality Assurance in Education and Reflecting Education.

Martin recently stepped down as programme leader for the MA in ICT in Education in order to take up a secondment to the Higher Education Academy, where he is involved in the development of their Research Observatory, covering work on e-Learning.

Contact Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

LKL News

Martin Oliver is featured in the following news items:
Monday, 05 August 20132 Readers and a Professor for LKL! Congratulations all.
Wednesday, 05 December 2012HEIF Major Initiative bids
Wednesday, 07 September 2011Strong LKL Presence at ALT-C
Thursday, 28 July 2011JISC 'Developing Digital Literacies' Award
Thursday, 28 July 2011Dr Martin Oliver awarded in National Teaching Fellowship Scheme
Wednesday, 12 January 2011Martin Oliver Keynote presenter at Ascilite 2010, Sydney
Wednesday, 08 September 2010Martin Oliver elected as ALT Vice-Chair
Tuesday, 20 April 2010London Review of Education special issue on "Being Online"
Tuesday, 12 January 2010Transforming Higher Education Through Technology Enhanced Learning
Monday, 13 August 2007Alex Poulovassilis
Wednesday, 09 May 2007Learning from Online Worlds
Friday, 15 December 2006MyPlan

Full LKL news listing

LKL Events

List of events at the London Knowledge Lab with Martin Oliver:
Monday, 04 July 2011Learning, Media and Technology Doctoral Conference
Wednesday, 13 May 2009LKL showcase
Tuesday, 25 April 2006Designing for learning with VLEs
Wednesday, 26 October 2005Games and Play
Wednesday, 05 October 2005Technology and change in educational practice

Full LKL event listing